CLERK OF COURT & COMPTROLLER
HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, FLORIDA
The Clerk's Expungement and Sealing Unit (ESU) assists with the process of requesting the sealing or expungement of your criminal history record(s). "Expungement" is defined as removed from the public records per F.S. 943.0585 [external 3rd party website]. "Sealed" is defined as restricted access based on F.S. 943.059 [external 3rd party website] or a court order. If you have questions or concerns about these forms, instructions, or your legal rights, it is strongly recommended that you consult with an attorney. If you do not know an attorney, you may contact the Hillsborough County Bar Association Legal Referral Service [external 3rd party website]. Expunging a criminal record from public records will not remove them from other non-Clerk databases that may already contain those records; you will need to contact the administrators of those databases directly to request removal of the expunged records from their systems.
You need to first obtain a Certificate of Eligibility from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement [external 3rd party website].
Once you have a Certificate of Eligibility, you can complete the applicable Petition to Seal/Expunge, Sworn Statement and Order.
Pursuant to Florida Statutes [external 3rd party website] and local Administrative Order [external 3rd party website] all costs, fines, and fees must be paid in full prior to your petition being considered by the court. Review your case to determine any outstanding costs, fines or fees due. The Expungement and Sealing Unit (ESU) will review your file and determine the costs associated with the sealing or expunging of your record.
After you have obtained your Certificate of Eligibility and have completed the above forms, print and sign all of the required documents.
Submit the original certificate and signed forms to the ESU Department of the Clerk of the Circuit Court with all monies due.
To email ESU, click here.
Expungement and Sealing Fees
|Expungement or sealing of court record||$42.00|
|Document copies per page||$1.00|
|Certified copies per document certification||$2.00|
Please contact (813) 276-8100, ext. 3800 to find out the total amount due for processing fees and any outstanding fines, fees or court costs.
NOTE: Acceptable forms of payment are cash, money order or cashier's check. Personal checks will not be accepted for payment of these fees.