Yes. The traffic citation payment system will allow you to pay traffic fines online if the following items apply to your ticket: Your ticket was issued no more than 30 days prior to the current date and is a payable offense which does not require a court date to be set or proof with payment. Examples of payable offenses are speeding, running a red light, or careless driving. If you want to pay your fine online, click here to access the Online Traffic Citation Payment System.
It depends on what violation you were charged with and if it is being paid within 30 days. After 30 days, late fees are assessed. See the Fees and Fines Schedule for citations being paid within 30 days.
First, contact the Clerk's Office in the county in which the citation was received. Citation costs differ from county to county. See the Traffic Department section of the Fee Schedule page for Hillsborough County's Driving School Election Amounts. You must sign an affidavit electing to attend the driving school and pay the Clerk the associated cost within 30 days from the offense date, to use this option. (School election must be made at time of payment.)Note: If you have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), you are not eligible and cannot elect the driving school option. Next, contact the school of your choice that is approved by the State of Florida www.flhsmv.gov//ddl/bdis.html and complete the course within 60 days. For driving schools located in Hillsborough County, please consult a yellow page directory. Schools will advise you of the cost of the program. Finally, provide the Clerk's Office with a copy of the completion certificate. (Click here to view the Clerk's mailing address). This must be done within 60 days of making the driving school election and paying the associated costs. There are no exceptions. This option may only be used once in a 12 month period and no more than 5 times in a lifetime. Failure to complete school within 60 days will result in the suspension of your driver's license and additional assessments.
If you are charged with a criminal traffic violation (DUI, driving with a suspended license, driving without a valid drivers license, etc.), you must appear in person at one of the Clerk's office locations that process Traffic violations or mail a request in writing within 10 days of the offense date to request a court date. Please bring a copy of the citation with you or if your request is being mailed, please include a copy with your request. If you are charged with a civil infraction, and you would like to schedule a court date, you may come to one of the Clerk's Traffic Office locations, mail or email a request within 30 days from the day you received the citation. Please provide a copy of the citation. You may also make your request by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please give us the following information about your case; your full name, date of birth, Florida Drivers License number, date of offense and the citation (ticket) number and current mailing address. If you are requesting a court date after the initial 30 days, late and suspension fees must be paid prior to a court date being scheduled. NOTE: Effective January 1, 2013, we will no longer be able to schedule civil infractions for court after 180 days from the date upon which the violation occurred per Florida Statute 318.15. Please see Florida Statute 318.15 for exact provisions.
Please see the map in the Contact Information section.
You may purchase a copy at any Clerk's Traffic Office location. The cost for a three year record is $14.25 and $1.00 for each additional page. The cost for a full record is $16.25 and $1.00 for each additional page. If no record is found the cost is $8.25.
To obtain this information you may purchase a copy of your driving record from any Clerk's Traffic Office location. If you have questions regarding points, please contact your local driver’s license office.
Yes, if you are charged with a traffic infraction that does not require a court date or proof of payment, you may request one additional 30 day extension. The citation must be paid by the extended date to avoid additional fees and the suspension of your driver's license. Your request may be made in person, by U.S. Mail, phone or email.
No, once a due date is issued in court, it cannot be extended by the Clerk’s Office.
Contact the Clerk's Office in the county in which you received the citation and they will provide you with this information or if the citation was issued in Hillsborough County you may look up your citation number online by clicking here.
Once a case is scheduled for court, it cannot be rescheduled by the Clerk's Office.
The Clerk's Office can assist you if your driver's license is suspended for failure to pay a traffic citation or to attend defensive driving school for a Hillsborough County citation. We will inform you of any requirements including any additional costs that may be applicable. However, if it is suspended for any other reasons, you will need to contact your local Drivers License Office.
If you received a parking ticket outside Tampa city limits, you make payment to the Clerk of Circuit Court. If you received the parking ticket inside Tampa city limits, click here to pay online or contact the City of Tampa Parking Department at (813) 274-8177.