Thanksgiving Holiday Closures: All Clerk's Office locations will be closed on Thursday, November 23rd and Friday, November 24th, and will reopen on Monday, November 27, 2017.

x alert

CLERK OF COURT & COMPTROLLER

HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, FLORIDA

How Do I Apply for a Marriage License?


What is needed to apply for and receive a new marriage license?

Both people (parties) must appear in person together and must provide proof of all of the following:

  • Age - both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
  • A valid driver's license, state identification card, or passport. 
  • U.S. citizens must provide their social security number.
  • Non-citizens may provide a social security number or an alien registration number issued by Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Both people must jointly complete a marriage license application form (available online to print out, complete and bring with you, or you can fill out an application in our office). Please make sure to fill out how and when the previous marriage(s) of both people ended, if applicable.

Florida law requires that both people read the Marriage Handbook before applying for a marriage license. You can download the book in English and Spanish.

Nonrefundable marriage license fee of $86.00. The fee is $61.00 for Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course with a qualified registered course provider. (If you are a pre-marital course provider and you are not on this list, you can download information on how to register.)

The following methods of payment are acceptable: cash, money order, traveler's check, credit card, or personal check. If paying with a personal check, your name and current address must be imprinted on the check and a photo identification is required.

No appointments are available to apply for a marriage license, but you can view current wait times and locations for Marriage Licenses here to decide when the best time is to you to come in to our offices.

Do both people have to be present to apply for a new marriage license?

Yes. Both people must be present to sign the marriage license application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided. This can only be done in person.

Is a blood test required?

No. Blood tests are not required in Florida when applying for a marriage license.

Is there a waiting period for the issuance of a new marriage license?

There is a three-day waiting period if one or both of the individuals who are marrying is a Florida resident*, unless they present a certificate of completion of a premarital preparation course from a qualified registered course provider or a signed statement attesting they have taken a premarital preparation course from a qualified registered course provider and reading the Marriage Handbook (you can download the Marriage Handbook in English and in Spanish). Note: If BOTH people are non-Florida residents, there is no waiting period, but you are still required to read the Marriage Handbook. If one person is a non-Florida resident but the other person IS a Florida resident, the waiting period will apply. *A Florida resident is a person whose official address of record is within the state of Florida.

How long is the new marriage license valid?

Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 calendar days from the effective date. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license within the state of Florida.

Must I apply for a new marriage license in the county where I live?

No, it is not necessary to apply for a new marriage license in the county where you live. A marriage license may be applied for and solemnized* in any Florida county.  [*Solemnized, when spoken of in a marriage, means to perform a marriage ceremony before a witness.]

May a marriage be performed without a license?

No marriage ceremony may be performed without a valid Florida marriage license. Florida Statute 741.08 states that "the party solemnizing* the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony, and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof on the license, and shall transmit the same to the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court from which it issued." [*Solemnizing, when spoken of in a marriage, means to perform a marriage ceremony before a witness.] Simply put, this means that the official performing the marriage must certify that the marriage ceremony was lawfully performed by them and send the marriage record to the county clerk to be recorded.

How do I become a Premarital Course Provider?

Only qualified premarital course providers can be registered as such with the Hillsborough County Clerk of Court, and these registered premarital course providers are the only ones whose training is accepted by the Clerk for marriage license applications in Hillsborough County. You can download the list to see if you are currently on the Clerk's of qualified registered premarital course providers. If you want to be registered with the Clerk, you can download the instructions and form. There is no cost for qualified course providers to register.